COLLEGE OF FOOD AND AGRICULTURE

 

About the College

The College of Food and Agriculture (CFA) was first inaugurated as the College of Agricultural Sciences in the academic year 1980/1981. At that time the academic structure included only two departments, namely, the Department of Plant Production and the Department of Animal Production.

Dean's Message

Dean

The College of Food and Agriculture is a unique national asset. It is not only a seat of learning but also shares valuable knowledge regarding plants, animals, and human health with wider society.

The college welcomes new undergraduates and graduates to our varied programs. You can also visit our farms and laboratories which form part of our social and community responsibility.

Why Choose the College of Food and Agriculture

Latest News

ALL

Lecture Series

16 Nov 2017
Prof. Mohammad Pessarakli

Growth Responses of Halophytic Plant Species to Salinity & Drought Stresses

09 Nov 2017
Dr. Jeannette M. Beasley

Evidence for Establishing Optimal Protein Intake in Older Adults  

Spotlight

Dr. Ayesha Al Dhaheri

Vice Dean & Associate Professor,  Department of Nutrition and Health Sciences

Taking Lead in Emirate’s Nutrition

Dr. Ayesha Salem Obaid Al Dhaheri, currently holds the position of Vice Dean in the College of Food and Agriculture at the United Arab Emirates University (UAEU). Dr. Al Dhaheri earned a Ph.D. in Clinical Nutrition from Oxford Brookes University, England, in 2007 after gaining an M.Sc. in the Environmental Sciences: Clinical Nutrition from UAEU in 2002.

Dr. Al Dhaheri joined the United Arab Emirates University in 2008 as a research assistant. She became an associate professor in the Department of Nutrition and Health Sciences in 2015. She also serves as Assistant Dean for Professional Development; President of the Emirates Clinical Nutrition Society and as a coordinator for MEFOODS and GULFOODS – FAO in Rome.

Dr. Al Dhaheri’s research promotes greater awareness of the prevention and treatment of nutrition related diseases. This is the goal of her current Emirates Foundation-sponsored projects where she is the principal investigator. Recently her research team compiled the first authoritative guide to the nutritional composition of traditional Emirati food and the impact such food has on blood sugar levels.

Another research project is ‘Setting up and Running School Gardens.’ This is conducted in cooperation with the FAO; the General Women’s Union and the Abu Dhabi Food Control Agency. Dr. Al Dhaheri edited and published an Arabic version of the teaching toolkit and manual for this project.

Additionally, she has an ongoing project that focuses on the relationship between body mass index (BMI), body circumference and skinfold thickness in terms of impaired fasting glucose (IFG) and blood pressure (BP). This is being conducted with female UAEU students.

She has authored numerous peer-reviewed publications in cooperation with other national and international scientists, and regularly participates in international conferences and interdisciplinary research projects in nutritional and clinical sciences.

Also, she has organized a series of events. These include the International Growth and Development Conference (‘Healthy Ageing: Pediatric to Geriatric’), the first conference of its kind in the region.

One of her many notable achievements has been when the University College London’s (UCL) Division of Medicine – Institute for Liver and Digestive Health, selected Dr. Al Dhaheri to be an Honorary Fellow from the 1st October, 2017 to 30th September, 2020.

Outside of work, Dr. Al Dhaheri enjoys spending quality time with her family and loves to engage herself in activities such as natural soap making, cooking and crochet sewing.

Latest Research

UAEU Research Project Gets Its Teeth Into Food Health[...]

UAEU student’s diet-defining tool aims to give food for thought[...]

Student's Innovation award for UAEU research into generating a new source of gelatin[...]

New Database Hopes To Spur Discoveries In Essential Oils[...]

Student Testimonials

"Being a CFA student allows you to enjoy a meaningful educational journey. The CFA combines study and practical application of that knowledge. You will never be bored and have the opportunity to expand your horizons.”

Muna Rehman Juma

Bachelor of Science in Nutritional Science

"I am very  grateful to the College of Food and Agriculture for giving me the chance to be involved with sustainable agriculture: where we can produce food without cost to the planet.  The education and the experience I gain helps to make me a more productive citizen.”

Amer Al Sawafi

Bachelor of Science in Horticulture

"The College of Food and Agriculture gave me the chance to get involved in many practical activities. The college ensures that students have the chance to excel in areas such as leadership and working with others. Moreover, there are excellent teachers who deliver a top-class education both in and outside of the classroom.”

Maithah Mohamed Al Breiki

Bachelor of Science in Nutritional Science

Media Center

 
Last updated:  Site best viewed at 1024 x 768 resolution in I.E 9+, Mozilla 3.5+, Google Chrome 3.0+, Safari 5.0+

عفوا

لايوجد محتوى عربي لهذه الصفحة

عفوا

يوجد مشكلة في الصفحة التي تحاول الوصول إليها

Aug 2, 2018

كلية الأغذية والزراعة

 

حول الكلية

 

تم افتتاح كلية الأغذية والزراعة بدايةً تحت اسم كلية العلوم الزراعية في العام الجامعي1980/1981. وفي ذلك الوقت تضمن الهيكل الأكاديمي قسمين فقط، وهما: قسم الإنتاج النباتي وقسم الإنتاج الحيواني. وفي سنة 1995، تم تطوير برنامج الكلية ليركز على زراعة الأرضي القاحلة والعلوم الغذائية والتغذية، وذلك بإنشاء قسم العلوم الغذائية والتغذية.

المزيد

رساله العميد

Dean

إن كلية الأغذية والزراعة في جامعة الإمارات العربية المتحدة واحدة من أعرق الكليات الزراعية في الشرق الأوسط، وهدفنا هو التميز ليس فقط على المستوى المحلي، بل أيضاً على المستوى العالمي، وذلك من خلال تزويد طلبتنا بالتعليم ذي الجودة العالية.

تتكون كلية الأغذية والزراعة من خمسة أقسام علمية هي: قسم زراعة الأراضي القاحلة، وقسم الأعمال الزراعية

لماذا كلية الأغذية والزراعة

آخر الأخبار

سلسلة المحاضرات

16 Nov 2017
أ.د. محمد بيسركلي

استجابات النمو لأنواع النباتات الملحية من حيث الملوحة والجفاف.

09 Nov 2017
أ.د. جانيت باسل

أدلة على إنشاء البروتين الأمثل لإعطائه للبالغين

أبرز الشخصيات

د. عائشة الظاهري

مساعد العميد وأستاذ مشارك بقسم التغذية والصحة

حصلت الدكتورة عائشة الظاهري التي تشغل حالياً منصب مساعد العميد في كلية الأغذية والزراعة بجامعة الإمارات على درجة الماجستير في علوم البيئة تخصص التغذية السريرية من جامعة الإمارات عام 2002 وعلى درجة الدكتوراه في التغذية السريرية من جامعة أكسفورد بروكس ببريطانيا عام 2007.

وانضمت الدكتورة عائشة إلى جامعة الإمارات عام 2008 لتعمل كمساعد باحث، ثم أصبحت أستاذاً مشاركاً بقسم التغذية والصحة عام 2015، كما تشغل الآن منصب مساعد العميد للتنمية المهنية ورئيس جمعية الإمارات للتغذية السريرية ومنسق في منظمة الأغذية والزراعة في روما بإيطاليا

وتهدف أبحاث الدكتورة عائشة إلى زيادة الوعي بطرق الوقاية من الأمراض المرتبطة بالتغذية ومعالجتها. كما يعد هذا هدف مشروعها الحالي الذي ترعاه مؤسسة الإمارات حيث تعد الباحثة الرئيسية في المشروع، وكجزء من المشروع قام فريقها البحثي بتجميع أول دليل رسمي لمكونات الأطعمة الإماراتية التقليدية وتأثيرها على مستويات السكر في الدم.

كما تعمل الدكتورة عائشة بالتعاون مع منظمة الأغذية والزراعة والاتحاد النسائي العام وجهاز أبوظبي للرقابة الغذائية على مشروع آخر بعنوان "إنشاء وإدارة حدائق مدرسية"، حيث قامت بتحرير ونشر النسخة العربية من المواد التدريسية ودليل المشروع.

ويتناول مشروع آخر تقوم الدكتورة عائشة بإعداده مع مجموعة من طلبة جامعة الإمارات العلاقة بين مؤشر كتلة الجسم ومحيط الجسم وسماكة الجلد من حيث اختلال الجلوكوز الصومي وضغط الدم.

كما قامت الدكتورة عائشة بنشر العديد من الأعمال المحكمة بالتعاون مع باحثين من داخل الدولة وخارجها، وتشارك بانتظام في المؤتمرات الدولية والمشاريع البحثية متعددة التخصصات في العلوم الغذائية والسريرية.

ونظمت الدكتورة عائشة عدداً من المؤتمرات منها المؤتمر العالمي للنمو والتطور "الشيخوخة الصحية: من طب الأطفال إلى طب الشيخوخة" الذي يعد الأول من نوعه في المنطقة.

ومن أبرز الإنجازات التي حققتها حصولها على الزمالة الفخرية من معهد صحة الكبد والجهاز الهضمي التابع لكلية الطب بجامعة لندن من 1 أكتوبر 2017 وحتى 30 سبتمبر 2020.

وفي خارج نطاق العمل، تستمتع الدكتورة عائشة بقضاء الوقت مع عائلتها والقيام بأنشطة مثل صنع الصابون الطبيعي والطبخ وخياطة الكروشيه.

الأبحاث

UAEU Research Project Gets Its Teeth Into Food Health[...]

UAEU student’s diet-defining tool aims to give food for thought[...]

Student's Innovation award for UAEU research into generating a new source of gelatin[...]

New Database Hopes To Spur Discoveries In Essential Oils[...]

إشادات الطلبة

اتاحت لي كلية الأغذية والزراعة الفرصة لممارسة العديد من التجارب والأنشطة خلال فترة الدراسة، حيث تعمل الكلية على تفوق الطالب وخلق روح القيادة والعمل ضمن فريق واحد وذلك بتوفر هيئة تدريس على قدر عالي من الخبرات التدريسية والبحثية داخل وخارج الصف .

ميثا محمد

بكالوريوس العلوم في علوم التغذية 

التحاقك بكلية الأغذية والزراعة يهيئ لك رحلة علمية ذات عمق وبعد رائعين حيث توفر الكلية المنهج التدريسي والتطبيق العملي جنبا الى جنب مما يصقل المعرفة.. لن تشعر بالممل مطلقا وستجد الفرصة الكاملة للإبداع ...

منى جمعة 

بكالوريوس العلوم في علوم التغذية

أتقدم بالشكر الجزيل لكلية الأغذية والزراعة لا تحاتها الفرصة لي لأكون ملما ومشاركا في عملية الزراعة المستدامة حيث انتاج وتوفير الغذاء من غير اثار سالبة على البيئة.. كما ان التعليم والخبرة التي تحصلت عليها تجعل منى مواطنا منتجا وفاعلا في المجتمع ...

عامر الصوافي 

بكالوريوس العلوم في البساتين

المركز الإعلامي

آخر تحديث للصفحة في    هذا الموقع يمكن تصفحه بالشكل المناسب من خلال شاشة 1024x768 يدعم مايكروسوفت انترنت اكسبلورر 9.0+، فاير فوكس 2.0+، سفاري 3+، جوجل كروم 12.0+

Sorry

There is no English content for this page

Sorry

There is a problem in the page you are trying to access.

Sep 23, 2018